A drunk driving stop can lead to severe consequences. If you’re arrested for driving while intoxicated in Morehead City or anywhere in the Carteret County area, you might wind up being punished with jail time, community service, a stiff fine, loss of your license and other sanctions. Fortunately, the Carolina Law Group provides comprehensive defense representation to accused motorists. We take an aggressive position when advocating, challenging misleading and improperly gathered evidence. Our attorneys thoroughly investigate the facts regarding the legality of a traffic stop and the accuracy of blood-alcohol test results. When you retain our services, you get a determined legal team focused on delivering the best possible results.
In North Carolina, it is illegal to operate a vehicle on a public street if your blood-alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent or above. North Carolina also has an implied consent law, which states that anyone who operates a vehicle has consented to a BAC test at two important junctures:
In the first instance, the officer will likely ask you to take a portable breath test. The purpose is to determine if the officer has probable cause for a DWI arrest. If you refuse the test, you face an automatic license suspension of one year. If you take the test and fail, you can expect to be arrested and face penalties including license suspension of at least 30 days.
After arrest, officers will ask you to take a second, more accurate test. This test is to gather evidence admissible in court. Again, a refusal means an automatic, immediate one-year license suspension. The revocation for refusal stands even you are not convicted of DWI.
North Carolina has tough DUI/DWI penalties. Charges are brought at one of six levels based on aggravating or mitigating factors, such whether you’ve been previously convicted of DWI, your BAC level and your prior driving record. All levels require an immediate license suspension for at least 30 days, though you might be allowed limited driving privileges after 10 days. Other penalties for the various level s can include:
You might also have to undergo a substance abuse assessment following a DWI conviction. More serious charges are possible if a crash resulted in property damage or personal injury. In light of these strict penalties, it’s important to have a seasoned criminal law attorney fighting for you. We regularly represent clients in misdemeanor and felony cases and have a track record of success in these matters. Our firm also provides traffic defense for other alcohol-related charges, such as driving with an open container.
Carolina Law Group defends clients accused of DWI in Morehead City, NC and the surrounding area. To speak to an experienced trial attorney regarding your case and potential defenses, call us at 252-672-2059 or contact us online. Our Morehead City office is a short drive away from the Carteret County Courthouse.