Search Site
Menu
Violent Crimes in Beaufort

Beaufort Lawyers Defend Clients Accused of Violent Crimes

Aggressive representation for clients in Morehead City, Emerald Isle, Atlantic Beach and Pine Knoll Shores

The Beaufort area is a destination for hundreds of thousands each year because of its natural beauty as well as its cultural and recreational opportunities. However, no place is immune from allegations of violent crime. At the Carolina Law Group, our experienced North Carolina attorneys represent accused individuals from across the area, including Emerald Isle, Atlantic Beach and Pine Knoll Shores. Accusations of assault and other crimes of violence must be taken seriously, if even if you believe that you can defeat the charge due to mistaken identity or the fact that you were acting in self-defense. We have the skill and experience to counter criminal allegations and counter the evidence brought by prosecutors. No matter the specific count, we’ll stick by your side, fighting for the best possible outcome.

Assault and battery under North Carolina law

Under North Carolina law, assault and battery are aspects of the same crime, and can be charged as a misdemeanor or penalty depending on the severity of the circumstances.

There are three types of misdemeanor charges:

  • Assault and battery — One person physically injuring another
  • Assault — An attempt to commit an assault and battery, or a display of force that indicates an assault and battery is imminent
  • Affray — A fight between two or more voluntary participants in a public place

These offenses are charged as Class 2 misdemeanors, punishable by probation and one to 30 days in jail. A defendant with prior convictions can draw a sentence as long as 60 days. A fine of up to $1,000 is also possible.

Some assault and battery offenses are charged as Class 1 and A1 misdemeanors. These include cases where the allegation involves:

  • Serious injury — When a victim requires medical attention
  • Deadly weapon — The alleged offense was committed with an object capable of killing a person
  • Sexual battery — Unwanted physical contact for the purpose of sexual gratification
  • Particular victims — Simple assault committed by a man against a woman, an adult against a child or on someone who has special protection due to their job

Class A1 and Class 1 misdemeanors are punishable by probation, supervised probation, or a jail sentence of one to 60 days, or up to 150 days if the defendant has prior convictions. The amount of the fine is at the judge’s discretion.

Penalties for domestic violence in North Carolina

North Carolina criminal law includes enhanced penalties for domestic violence, which occurs when an assailant has a qualifying relationship with the victim and:

  • The assault causes serious injury, or
  • Is committed in the presence of a minor child, who lives with the defendant and has a personal relationship with the defendant.

Qualifying personal relationships include spouses, children, grandchildren, former spouses, people who have lived together as a family, people who have or had a dating relationship, and co-parents. When authorities charge domestic violence, a Class 2 misdemeanor becomes a Class A1, so the defendant faces more jail time and a potentially higher fine.

When charged with a serious crime, you need a criminal defense attorney whose track record inspires confidence. The attorneys of the Carolina Law Group have proven our litigation skills time and again, and we are ready to fight for you.

Contact a Beaufort criminal defense attorney to fight charges of violent crime

The Carolina Law Group provides effective criminal defense representation for clients accused of violent crimes in Beaufort, Morehead City, Emerald Isle, Atlantic Beach and Pine Knoll Shores. Call us at 252-672-2059 or contact us online to schedule a consultation.

Contact The Carolina Law Group

Quick Contact Form