Unless you challenge the authorities, getting a traffic ticket usually means a fine, and possibly license points and higher insurance premiums. If you’re cited for a moving violation in the Craven County area, the Carolina Law Group, led by Tommy Kellis, can defend you and possibly obtain a dismissal or acquittal of your case. We are located in New Bern and thoroughly investigate the circumstances to identify ways to push back against the allegations brought by police and prosecutors. When you retain our services, you get a determined legal team that is focused on results.
Between local residents and visitors to attractions such as the Croatan National Forest, there can be considerable traffic on Craven County roads, which leads to traffic violations, such as:
If you’re ticketed for one of these infractions, you could incur heavy fines and license penalty points. North Carolina will suspend a driver’s license if they accumulate 12 points in three years, or eight points in three years following reinstatement of a suspended license. These points usually also result in higher insurance costs. When you add up all the negative consequences, your ticket can become pretty expensive over time. The best course of action might be to fight that ticket with the assistance of a capable defense attorney.
Certain traffic offenses are punished much more severely than standard moving violations. In North Carolina, reckless driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor. This means that a conviction can be punished by up to 30 days in jail for a first offense, as well as a fine of up to $1,000. Repeat offenders could serve as many as 60 days in jail.
Reckless driving under North Carolina is defined as operating a vehicle “carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others,” or “without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property.” These definitions leave a lot room for interpretation and there might be extenuating circumstances that form the basis of a strong defense.
Our attorneys also help North Carolina motorists fight DUI/DWI charges. Again, this is not just a traffic violation. You might wind up with jail time, a fine and the suspension of your license, even for a first drunk driving offense. A DWI is sentenced differently from other misdemeanors, carrying a maximum three-year prison sentence and a $10,000 fine. If you do receive a license suspension for this or any other offense, you could be facing Class 3 or Class 1 misdemeanor charges for driving without a license.
To fight any of these serious traffic charges, you need professional representation from a skilled and determined criminal defense lawyer.
Carolina Law Group defends clients accused of a wide range of traffic violations throughout the Craven County area. To discuss your options with an experienced North Carolina attorney, please call 252-636-3737 or contact us online. We are located in New Bern.